There’s something there that wasn’t there before…

What is this new, wonderful, exciting thing in my life you are all wondering about? It’s this. It’s a new beginning. It’s a story of how one girl decided one day that she was bored and needed to get moving. That’s it. Really.

Okay. Let me start from the beginning. I have been doing theater my entire life and I just finished a production of The Wiz in November 2012. I was the Production Assistant, and it was going to be a long time before I worked on another show (Summer of 2013 I’m auditioning for Monty Python’s Spamalot). I’m usually an exceptionally busy person, so when I was going home after work, I was just plopping myself on the couch for the rest of the night until bed. It was great for a while, especially on the weekends when the boyfriend and I would hang out, but I was starting to get antsy. I decided I wanted to do something. I know that I had promised myself (and my boss) I wouldn’t get too busy and would take a real, actual break from theater, so I couldn’t go back to that. I didn’t want to spend the money to take a class on something I might not enjoy, so that was out. I tried picking up knitting again, and that worked until my joints started hating me because of the cold. I was dying of boredom. First world problems, am I right?

One day, I decided I wanted to start working out regularly again. Theater was my form of “working out”, if you will, for a while. I danced, sang (which, if you don’t know that singing is a work out, you’re not doing it right), was on my feet, everything. It was great. But when you go from that to just sitting on the couch all day, you get crazy. I mean, I’m-going-to-walk-to-the-grocery-store-because-that’s-how-badly-I-have-the-need-to-move-around crazy. And that’s when I started reading about women who made complete and new lives for themselves, just by changing their lifestyles. I’m not doing anything differently here, except for one thing. I’m training.

This is a very loaded statement. I know this. Reading blogs of other women got me motivated. I started researching gym memberships and finally decided on one that worked for me and my schedule (as well as my budget, ahem). After spending just one night there and realizing how amazing it felt to be back on a treadmill, just walking, I made a decision. I was going to start running. This may not seem like a very big deal to most (I’m looking at you, track people), but this is a VERY big deal to me. I never run. Period. That’s it. I’ve always said that as an Italian, I’m not made to run. Have you ever seen someone from Italy win any of the races in the Olympics? No. They win at soccer. They run if a ball is rolling in front of their feet. That’s it.

Image

Or, you know, to chase their sheep (I come from a long line of shepherds on both sides).

So that’s the basic end of it. The other side is that I have set up four goals for myself over the next four years. The goal for this year is to RUN in at least one 5k. The extended goal is to run in three 5k’s this year. The second goal is to run in at least three 10k’s in the second year of this process. The third goal is to run a half marathon in the third year, with that as my only race for that year but continuing in training. The fourth and final goal is to run in a full marathon by the end of the fourth year, and to continue running as a lifestyle.

I know this will be difficult. I know there will be trials and tribulations. I know that this blog might put strains on various relationships. I know that I might run into life events that could postpone these goals (for which I would adjust realistically). But I am willing to try and work around those things. I am willing to work with this. I want to be able to do something new to me for me. As I sit here writing this mini novel of a post, I realize that this may very well change who I am. And I am prepared to tackle anything as it comes. I don’t want to change, so I will try my hardest not to. But I know a part of me will always be affected by this choice. So here it goes. My new outlook. You will get a glimpse of everything I do in this journey, so just you wait. I can’t.

7 thoughts on “There’s something there that wasn’t there before…

  1. Hey Chi,
    I can’t tell you how proud I am of you! Your post, your goal, and your enthusiasm are all so admirable. Can’t wait to follow and cheer you on!

    xx,
    Laur

    (PS- Your title- is it inspired by Beauty and the Beast, or Little Women? 🙂 )

  2. ChiChi, this sounds awesome!
    You will need two things:
    1. a running coach
    2. the right pair of shoes

    You need a coach because for max efficiency you will need to gain correct running posture and stride, which will make your goals definitely more attainable. A coach can also tell you what strength building exercises will help you. It doesn’t need to be someone who coaches for their job, a xc runner who competed well in college should do. They can also help you develop a good work out regimen.

    You need to go to a running store for the right pair of shoes. They’ll have you walk and run a bit to see how your foot moves and whether you pronate. They’ll also find shoes that work specifically for your arch, foot length, and foot width. So many injuries and muscle sprains come from having the wrong shoes.

    I’m so excited for you! 5k’s and a marathon sound great! You can do it!

    • Thanks for the tips! I haven’t got running more than a few minutes down yet, but once I get in a territory that is substantial, I will invest in shoes. I’ve been working with a personal trainer at my gym, though, so that’s all taken care of for this one! I will be building up stamina first then get started on the real deal. It’s going to be a doozie, but I look forward to it all! I actually have a post coming up either tonight or early tomorrow about what my gym experiences have been like so far. Stay tuned!

  3. Wow! I love it. I think as we mature, we know ourselves better. You figured out you needed to move. Excellent! You’ve gotten some good tips and you’re working on your own, so you’re set. Once you get bitten by the running bug, you’ll never be the same 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and following my blog. I’ll check in on you from time to time.

Leave a Reply

